Collaborative School Committee

The Collaborative School Committee

The Collaborative School Committee (CSC) is an elected advisory board at GW. Presently we have 14 active members: four students, four parents, four teachers, one community representative, and the principal.

The primary focus of the CSC is the development and implementation of the Unified Improvement Plan (UIP). To this end we help guide the school budget, staffing allocations, and school design, always with the goal of furthering the UIP.

 

CSC Members

The members of the CSC for the 2017-2018 school year are:

NAME POSITION TERM ENDS EMAIL
Scott Lessard Principal scott_lessard@dpsk12.org
Jay Clapper Parent  June 2018 jayclapper@me.com
Kittie Hooke Parent June 2018 khook@ngkf.com
Adam Haynes Parent June 2018 Adam.Haynes@glca.com
Ron Sherman Parent June 2018 rsherma@yahoo.com
Mary Jo Minogue Community Member June 2018 mjm1589@gmail.com
Jennifer Harkness-Quintana Teacher June 2019 jennifer_harkness-quintana@dpsk12.org
Kevin Vicente Teacher June 2018 kevin_vicente@dpsk12.org
Juliana Evans Teacher June 2019 Juliana_evans@dpsk12.org
Michael Wylde Teacher June 2019 Michael_wylde@dpsk12.org
Jake Fisher Student June 2018 jake.fisher00@comcast.net
Isabelle Maestas Student June 2018 izzymaestas@gmail.com
Shahad Mohieldin Student June 2018 (smohieldin2@gmail.com
Lucca Raabe Student June 2019 lucca.raabe@gmail.com

 

  • CSC Minutes – 4/9/2018

    ATTENDANCE

    Scott Lessard, Kristin Waters, Adam Haynes, Jay Clapper, Mary Jo Minogue, Kittie Hook, Jennifer Harkness-Quintana, Jake Fisher, Shahad Mohieldin, Eric Sherman, Ron Sherman, Henry Waldstreicher, Andrew Schwartz, Michael Wylde, Lucca Raabe

    CALLED TO ORDER

    4:30pm

    MINUTES

    4:30 – Overview of agenda/introductions 

     

    4:35 – SAT prep has been seen in classrooms 

    • Using classroom education via analytical and critical thinking to help students internalize these processes more efficiently and translate those skills to test taking has been effective thus far!

    Schedule another SPF meeting, more GW focused at the end of this year

    • Revise questions so as not to repeat any information
    • Push to remove comparison schools
    • Determine who we needs to speak to in order to create a real change: Carrie Olson

     

    4:50 – Staffing adjustment 

    • Two new TOK teachers, trained by Leslie Whitty into the first semester of next year, who will also fulfill the absent positions in Social Studies and Math.
    • CAS responsibilities are to be absorbed by the IB coordinator
    • Lots of staff applications for available jobs at George, indicating lots of interest for our school!
    • Leslie Whitty committed to teaching a philosophy class next year

     

    5:06 – School projects

    • Furniture $140,000 from the bond
    • Library, windows and bathrooms are set to be improved as quickly as possible

     

    5:13 – Wait until Fall for nominations and elections to CSC

    MEETING ADJOURNED

    5:30pm

    NEXT MEETING

    5/7/2018 – 4:30pm