Collaborative School Committee

The Collaborative School Committee

The Collaborative School Committee (CSC) is an elected advisory board at GW. Presently we have 15 active members: four students, four parents, four teachers, one classified staff member, one community representative, and the principal.

The primary focus of the CSC is the development and implementation of the Unified Improvement Plan (UIP). To this end we help guide the school budget, staffing allocations, and school design, always with the goal of furthering the UIP.

 

CSC Members

The members of the CSC for the 2015-2016 school year are:

NAME POSITION TERM ENDS EMAIL
Jose Martinez Acting Principal June 2016 jose_martinez4@dpsk12.org
Scott Lessard Incoming Principal scott_lessard@dpsk12.org
Stephen Arichea Teacher June 2017 stephen_arichea@dpsk12.org
Angela Danley Teacher June 2017 angela_danley@dpsk12.org
Paul Knickerbocker Teacher June 2016 paul_knickerbocker@dpsk12.org
Kevin Vicente Teacher June 2016 kevin_vincente@dpsk12.org
Renelle Weightman Classified June 2016 renelle_weightman@dpsk12.org
Jake Fisher Student June 2017 jake.fisher00@comcast.net
Hezekiah Hall Student June 2016 honeybadgerdontcare05@gmail.com
Bryn Learned Student June 2016 annalearned11@gmail.com
Kathryn Swan Student June 2017 kathrynswan0@gmail.com
Ronda Belen Parent June 2016 belenfamilyco@gmail.com
Barbara Chin Parent June 2016 barbdan5@gmail.com
Jay Clapper Parent June 2016 jayclapper@me.com
Leslie Cordova Parent June 2016 leslie_cordova@dpsk12.org
Kittie Hook Parent June 2017 khook@newmarkkffr.com
Mary Jo Minogue Parent June 2016 mjm1589@gmail.com
David Wollins Community Member June 2016 dhwollins@dhwpc-law.com

 

 

  • CSC Minutes 1/17/2017

    ATTENDANCE

    Scott Lessard, Jennifer Harkness-Quintana, Angela Danley, Kevin Vicente, Jay Clapper, Mary Jo Minogue, Kitty Hook, Jake Fisher, Shahad Mohieldin, Kelli Pfaff

    CALLED TO ORDER

    4:30pm

    MINUTES

    UPDATES: S.Lessard- Scoops of Unity event Friday- at the end of school; pins to handout to students that promote unity; Student selling stickers for a CAS project; each class “sacrifice” 2 minutes

    BUDGET TIMELINE– Lessard will get #s next week; CSC will need to meet soon thereafter

    • Documents provided by Lessard
      • Choice-in and Boundary Enrollment: shows decline in enrollment
      • Enrollment Scatterplot Map: shows that Northfield High School is going to continue to pull students

    DPS has given us preliminary #’s: 1286 this year we are projected 1232 for next year (we won’t know any more for sure until end of February when we get information on rising 9th graders)

    Thursday 1/19- Lessard will talk with Mr. Boasberg re:budget timeline

    January 31st– Lessard will meet with DPS budget team to confirm budget

    The district has decided to put a DSST on Northfield’s campus

    PATHWAYS SCHOOL @ GW

    Lessard- we (GW) have worked with 30 kids who aren’t being successful at GW and we’ve sent them to alternative high schools where they can be successful

    15% of our population doesn’t make it to their Junior year from their Sophomore year

    We have an option: we could say we want a pathways school here at GW to give those students who aren’t going to make it; this would fulfill the mission of One George

    Pathways schools: can offer flexibility in credit requirements; can offer more support; can keep students who we are sending to other pathways/alternative schools

    West high school has a pathway school with 70 kids in it right now

    Lessard wants to propose: we offer to host a pathway school (only 3rd and 4th year students) to the district if they allow us to:

    • Lessard helps select the principal
    • Starts small- can’t project 150 kids in the first year and be successful; start with 6 classrooms

    What is the impact to other programs? Not sure…most likely classrooms will begin to have less variation in student performance

    Would there be additional RIBs for GW staff? (Due to the additional students being pulled)

    • Theoretically these would be the kids we are losing anyways each semester

    Concern: is this a step back in expectations for school discipline? Are we inviting students in that aren’t successful in the school environment?

    North, Lincoln, West= other pathways schools

    DPS representative:

    • There are 19 Pathways schools in the district; this one would serve 3rd and 4th year students who are a year behind in credit
    • “Attendance has gone up”
    • North High School- has one and the leadership team works together well to make it successful
    • Only thing that we would share is this physical space.
    • “if GW requests a pathway school” –
    • If a building is sitting empty the approved charters can be placed in those schools

    West- created “turf wars” because there are 4 schools within a building…we don’t want that here

    If a student doesn’t graduate on time from a traditional high school there is a penalty, but pathway schools are exempt from that penalty

    Q=Are pathways students allocated more $

    A=“there is a different budgeting framework” – The Pathways schools are funded differently from a mill levy fund

    Could this create the same kind of “separation” that we were trying to end with One George?

    Systemic problems discussion

    Lessard- wants our permission to propose this pathway school-

    • CSC-would like Lessard to propose this if he can have a say in negotiating what it would look like

    What about the $4 million in school directed Bond money? We will get that eventually and have to decide how to spend that. Priorities for Lessard: windows

    The district will spend $6million- lighting, ADA, HVAC upgrades,

    Can DPS come explain how they are going to spend the bond? – we won’t get any of this $ until 2018

    MEETING ADJOURNED

    6:30pm

    NEXT MEETING

    January 30, 2017 at 4:30pm.