Collaborative School Committee

The Collaborative School Committee

The Collaborative School Committee (CSC) is an elected advisory board at GW. Presently we have 14 active members: four students, four parents, four teachers, one community representative, and the principal.

The primary focus of the CSC is the development and implementation of the Unified Improvement Plan (UIP). To this end we help guide the school budget, staffing allocations, and school design, always with the goal of furthering the UIP.

 

CSC Members

The members of the CSC for the 2017-2018 school year are:

NAME POSITION TERM ENDS EMAIL
Scott Lessard Principal scott_lessard@dpsk12.org
Jay Clapper Parent  June 2018 jayclapper@me.com
Kittie Hooke Parent June 2018 khook@ngkf.com
Adam Haynes Parent June 2018 Adam.Haynes@glca.com
Ron Sherman Parent June 2018 rsherma@yahoo.com
Mary Jo Minogue Community Member June 2018 mjm1589@gmail.com
Jennifer Harkness-Quintana Teacher June 2019 jennifer_harkness-quintana@dpsk12.org
Kevin Vicente Teacher June 2018 kevin_vicente@dpsk12.org
Juliana Evans Teacher June 2019 Juliana_evans@dpsk12.org
Michael Wylde Teacher June 2019 Michael_wylde@dpsk12.org
Jake Fisher Student June 2018 jake.fisher00@comcast.net
Isabelle Maestas Student June 2018 izzymaestas@gmail.com
Shahad Mohieldin Student June 2018 (smohieldin2@gmail.com
Lucca Raabe Student June 2019 lucca.raabe@gmail.com

 

  • CSC Minutes 4/10/2017

    ATTENDANCE

    Isabel Maestas, Jake Fisher, Shahad Mohieldin, Stephen Arichea, Adam Haynes, Bryn Learned, Kathryn Swan, Angela Danley, Jennifer Harkness-Quintana, Kevin Vicente, Scott Lessard

    CALLED TO ORDER

    4:35pm

    MINUTES

    Counseling Update

    • Next year we won’t have counselors, we will have academic advisors and college advisors
    • These positions are currently being filled in an interview process

    Mental Health Update

    • 4/5 psychologist will be increased to 6/5
    • 7/5 social work will be increased to 10/5
    • 1 fulltime restorative justice will be hired

    Bond Project

    • Cooling in every classroom. These will not be added to large spaces, only classrooms.
    • There are ongoing negotiations about whether the windows will open in classrooms.
    • All lights will be changed to LCD’s.
    • School directed bond: includes prioritization of the windows, locker rooms, the library, and bathrooms.

    Enrollment

    • The current projected enrollment is at 1325. The old projection was 1220. It is possible that 100 of the 1325 may not choose to attend GW. If the choice system is more accurate, then 1325 is more accurate than the 1220 number.
    • If there is a significant influx in enrollment, the school can offer a small amount of money for teachers to teach extra students in a section.
    • In July, GW can contact families easier when they become 9th graders in Infinite Campus and projecting is easier.

    Colocation

    • The principal of the new school has been selected.
    • The rooms will mostly be on the first floor, with one possible science room.
    • There could be some reductions in the budget if the collocated school decides to use some of GW’s services or classes.
    • A relationship will be formed between GW’s and the collocated school’s staff.

    Unified Improvement Plan: The school performance framework shows us the things that we must improve. Areas in which GW does not meet or approaches expectations indicate attention is needed.

    Major Improvement Strategy 1: Prioritize 9th Grade academic growth.

    • 9th Graders will have to meet graduation requirements that include English and math competency as well as sufficient credits.

    Major Improvement Strategy 2: Eliminate historical barriers.

    • Decrease the achievement gap.
    • Increase opportunities for inclusion.

    Major Improvement Strategy 3: Increase student ownership of personal academic growth and future planning.

    Action items to implement these strategies are being brainstormed.

    MEETING ADJOURNED

    5:30pm

    NEXT MEETING

    5/1/2017